2008 Brantford Blast

2088 Brantford Blast

The Blast finished the 2007-08 season just barely out of first place. They swept the Windsor St. Clair Saints 4-games-to-none in the Major League Hockey semi-final, but were defeated 4-games-to-2 to the Dundas Real McCoys for the J. Ross Robertson Cup. 

As hosts of the 2008 Allan Cup (the 100th anniversary for the event) were allowed to bypass the OHA Final. After suffering their only loss of the tournament to the Shawinigan Xtreme 3-2 in the first game, the Blast defeated the Bentley Generals 5-3 to clinch second in their division. They defeated the Robertson Cup and EOSHL champion Whitby Dunlops in the quarter-final, 7-2. They then knocked off the Major League Hockey and Renwick Cup champion Dundas Real McCoys in the semi-final 3-2 in overtime. They met Bentley again in the final and defeated them 3-1 to win the Canadian National Senior "AAA" crown.

2008 Brantford Blast Roster/Team management

Steve Rice, Wayne Muir, Ryan Healy, Aaron Brand, Bobby Stewart, Bryan Hamm,  Brett Barnett, Jeremy Bloomfield, Cory Matchim, Chris Grenville, Brent Gretzky, Darren Mortier, Chad Spurr (A), Andrew Taylor (A), Tyler Pelton (C) Jason Simon

Steve Hurst, Dan Pitre, Jeff Brown, Steve Hurst, Ian Jacobs, Jim Baxter (A), Dave Russell, Luch Nasato

Bryan Worosz, Anthony Marshall

Joe Hamilton - Assistant Equipment Manager
Leigh Smith - Trainer
Ken Crabb - Equipment Manager
Dan Caco - Assistant Coach
Larry Trader - Head Coach
Executive Director & Assistant GM - Steve Cheeseman 
President/GM - Peter Ham